About us & Acknowledgements

Primary tabs

The purpose of this site is to organize the various forms of biodiversity data that are generated at the reserve. These include photographs, species sightings, publications, sound recordings, and museum and herbarium specimens.  We expect the data to be used by students from primary through graduate school, researchers, and the general public. In addition the site can serve the staff in making management decisions about land use policies.

We would like to acknowledge the following people for contributing identifications, photos, and data.

Chromoalveolata:  George Farnsworth.
Plants: Julia Borg, Robyn Burnham, Alex Gilman, José González, Richard Kriebel, Susan Letcher, Paul J.M. Maas, Jürg Schönenberger, and Hiltje Maas van de Kamer.
Myxomycetes: Laura Walker
Fungi: Carlos Hernández Fernández, Milagro Mata, Larry Millman, and Enia Navarro Valverde.
Protostomes: Association of Sarapiquí Naturalists, Socorro Avila, Carlos de la Rosa, Bill Haber, Richard Jacobson, Kevin Loope, Mollie McIntosh, Ann Ray, John Smiley, Kim Smiley, Marcía Snyder, Phil Torres, Gabriele Uhl, Ronald Vargas, and Heather York.
Reptiles and amphibians: Erick Berlin, Holly Cale, Ernesto Carman, Diego Dierick, Mo Donnelly, Ben Evans, Rob Gandola, Reuben Goforth, Dan Griffith, Cat Hendry, Donald Jiménez, Willy Pineda, Ann Ray, Kelsey Reider, Dave Richards, Jenny Stynoski, Caitlin Thomas, Steven Whitfield, and Heather York.
Mammals: Holly Cale, Ben Evans, Ben Hale, Lucia Lafleur, Lain Pardo,  Andrea Romero, Donal Solick, Bob Timm, and Heather York.
Birds: Víctor Acosta, Erick Berlin, Holly Cale, Ernesto Carman, Iván Castillo, Erick Castro, Ken Draves, Lenin Duarte, Pablo Elizondo, Ben Evans, George Farnsworth, Ariel Fonseca, Mario Gómez, Donald Jiménez, Jairo Jiménez, Daniel Martínez, Otto Monge, Elian Muñoz Herrera, Jim Norwalk, Ingrid Quiros, Mary Ramírez, Dina Roberts, Alejandra Salas Suarez, Enrique Salicetti, Susan Shriner, Jeffry Sibaja, Juan José Umaña, Ronald Vargas, Eric Wold, and Jim Zook.
Fish: Reuben Goforth, Megan Montalvo, and Harold Viequez.

Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith